First month at a Japanese Company – Feels like ‘back to school’

Posted: September 8, 2013 in Deutsch, English, Japanese Arbeit
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Testing the products...

Testing the products…

When I arrived a month ago in Japan I had no idea what to expect. All I knew was: I am going to work at a Japanese company, for many many years! After a 3 days long special introduction to the company I finally met the other new employees that entered the company the same year. I received a super warm welcome from everybody and despite starting 4 months later than them they made me feel like being a part of the family from my very first day. Thanks to their help, support and patience, especially regarding my very low Japanese understanding, I was able to master all the challenges of my first month and actually enjoyed it quite a lot.

Als ich vor mehr als einem Monat in Japan ankam, hatte ich noch keine Ahnung was mich erwarten würde. Ich wusste nur: Ich werde in einer japanischen Firma arbeiten, und das für viele viele Jahre! Nach einer 3 Tage langen Einführung in das Unternehmen, konnte ich endlich die anderen Neuankömmlinge, die auch dieses Jahr anfangen, kennen lernen. Alle hießen mich herzlichst willkommen und obwohl sie schon 4 Monate vor mir angefangen haben, gaben sie mir sofort das Gefühl ein Teil der neuen Familie zu sein. Nur dank ihrer Hilfe, Unterstützung und Geduld, vor allem im Zusammenhang mit meinem schlechten Japanisch-Verständnis, war ich in der Lage den ersten Monat erfolgreich zu überstehen und sogar zu genießen.

All in all the first month felt like being back at school. Every day we received lectures about various topics, ranging from “Japanese Business Manner” to “The 7 Ways of Success” and even one lecture on “How to read a Newspaper properly”. Since they were all held in Japanese my biggest challenge was to make an interested looking face even if I only understood fractures of what was going on and never to fall asleep. So basically just like University.

Alles in Allem fühlte sich der erste Monat so an, als würde ich wieder in der Schule sein. Jeden Tag wurden über die verschiedensten Themen Vorlesungen abgehalten, wie zum Beispiel „Japanische Business Manieren“, „Die 7 Wege zum Erfolg“ und sogar eine Vorlesung darüber „Wie man eine Zeitung richtig liest“. Dadurch, dass sie alle in Japanisch abgehalten wurden, bestanden meine größten Herausforderungen  darin immer ein interessiertes Gesicht zu machen auch wenn ich nur einen Bruchteil verstand und vorallem niemals einzuschlafen. Also im Grunde genau wie an der Uni.

At the end of the month we did little „school trips“ to all the different facilities of the company. It was nice to get out of the class room and to see the actual products. Especially Japanese factories are just amazing and I always had the feeling I am at the Deathstar with all the robots and little automatic cars running around by all by themselves.

Am Ende des Monats absolvierten wir kleine “Schulausflüge” zu den verschiedenen Einrichtungen der Firma. Es war herrlich das Klassenzimmer verlassen zu können und die eigentlichen Produkte sehen zu können. Besonders japanische Fabriken geben mir das Gefühl auf dem Todesstern zu sein, mit all den kleinen Robotern und automatischen Autos, die herum fahren.

Getting ready

Getting ready

From next week, I will work for a month at a factory myself. It is a kind or initiation rite at my company and all my colleagues had to work for even 3 months at a factory.  I am looking forward to fulfill my duty and I am happy that I had a pretty amazing start so far.

Ab nächster Woche  werde ich dann für einen Monat in einer unserer Fabriken arbeiten. Dies ist so eine Art Initiationsritus in meiner Firma und meine Mitarbeiter mussten sogar 3 Monate dort arbeiten. Ich freue mich darauf meine Pflicht zu erfüllen und bin sehr froh darüber, dass ich bis jetzt so einen guten Start ins japanische Arbeitsleben hatte.

Comments
  1. Inka says:

    Konichiwa, sounds great! Especially I like the part about the lectures (“just like university”). Hihi 🙂 Have fun and enjoy the production department!

  2. […] Jan Tzschichhold on First month at a Japanese Comp… […]

Leave a Reply

