Why I love England so much…

Posted: September 1, 2011 in English, Wanderlust
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
by Jan Tzschichhold
More than 2 years ago, I was sitting in a hot, sweaty room in Mexico thinking about what I could do with my life. I had only a couple of more months to go before my Social year in Mexico would end and I would have to go back to Europe. To be honest I didn’t have a clue, the only thing I knew, was that I didn’t want to go back to Germany. So I applied for English Universities. And I actually got accepted: in the prestigious and honourable University of Kent. (To be honest I had to google the University, its location and everything else after I got accepted, but in the end its a really good catch!)
Food in England
Within the last 2 years I started to love this little island called England! I especially love all your crazy food ideas like having vinegar over chips (which are French Fries by the way…just kidding) and mixing pastry with beef which English then call Cornish Pasty. I love Thorntons chocolate and sour Haribos and that is coming from me, a German. I still refuse to eat English Breakfast for breakfast (how can you eat such greasy stuff in the morning?) but I love it as dinner. I hate English Kebab, which I believe is a disgrace to every honest Kebab shop in the world, but the creamy Chicken Korma can make up for it. I also love English ciders and British whiskeys and all the related drinking games one can play with them, even if I love ‘Centurion‘ and ‘Ring of Fire‘ sometimes too much.
Heritage of England
I also love all your castles, churches and old buildings and the fact that every English city must have a cathedral.
I love the fact that every town or even field or forest has its own history, here and there some ghost stories and always many ruins from once upon a time. I still can’t really get use to the typically nasty, rainy English weather but exactly this kind of weather teaches me to appreciate the few sunny days even more.
People of England
And more than anything else, I do love the English people. I love how they say “thank you” to the bus driver before they leave a double decker bus (both things that would be unthinkable in Germany). Or that if I bump into another person accidentally he or she apologizes to me (not everywhere but at least in Canterbury). I admit that it can be a bit annoying that everybody’s first words after introducing myself as a German are “Guten Tag” and “Dankeschoen” but at least they show some interest in my culture. I love to hang out with my house mates and even watch ‘Deal or no Deal‘ (a game that is as boring as it sounds and still some of my friends scream with excitement) with them instead of locking myself in my own room. I love that my English University has hundreds of societies and you can meet so many different people that share all the same interests.
Party in England
I love in particular to go out with English people. ‘Mind over matter’ is fully incorporated in young English girls, when they are waiting in a queue for hours outside of the club in the freezing cold with nothing more  than a tiny dress on. And if one finally gets to the club, there are people dressed in school uniforms, others wear bunny ears and a bunch of Smurfs is playing ‘Strawpeedo‘ in the corner. I love it!
While I am writing this I am together with my girlfriend (another very important reason why I love England) in Norwich and enjoying my last day in England, before I will go for a year to Japan. It will be  very hard for me to go but I am looking forward to coming back in one year!
England I love you and I will see you again soon…
Comments
  1. consumedspirit says:

    awww Jan, what a tribute to the English otherwise also known in Scotland as ‘bastards’ 🙂 Hope to see u soon, in Japan or England or even better scotland! Just dont ever come here telling a scot its ‘british’ whisky or they will never u a bottle 🙂

    Christinex

  2. Yeah I definitely going to visit the mysterious place called Scotland. A week ago I have been the first time in my Life in Wales…And actually my favourite whisky is from Wales (Penderyn) just didn’t want to rub this into the face of the Scots 😉

  3. sandralizeth says:

    hola AMIGO JAN ke gust sAber de ti me gusta tu nueva pagina
    saludos desde veracruz, mexico te deceo exito
    cuidat mucho te mando abrazos

  4. Janin says:

    Findest du nich auch, dass Fish n Chips ein wenig trocken ist??? Du hast außerdem gar nichts zu Yorkshire Pudding gesagt – ekelhaft.

    Btw: schöne Seite
    Und ich wünsche dir ein wundervolles Jahr, Jan! Verzauber sie alle 🙂
    Knutsch
    Janin

  5. Waaas ich mag Yorkshire pudding, und alles andere was Engländer als Pudding bezeichen (was so ziemlich alles ist) Bin Gestern in Japan angekommen und sobald ich meinen Jetleg los geworden bin, schreib ich dir alles. Danke für dein netten comment 🙂

  6. Saaaandra, mi hija, como estas. pronto voy a escribir otro articulos en español. pero yo sé k sabes mucho ingles… soludos desde japon!

  7. feelings says:

    Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

  8. Fantastic write ups. Regards!

Leave a Reply

